Friday, January 26, 2007

Children's literature awards announced

The Caldecott Medal and the Giesel Award recipients were announced recently at the American Library Association (ALA) mid-winter conference in Seattle.

The Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott, according to the ALA, "was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children." It has been awarded since 1938.

Previous winners include Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg (1982), Grandfather's Journey by Allen Say (1994), and Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak (1964).

2007 Caldecott Medal recipient:
Flotsam by David Wiesner

2007 Caldecott Honor recipients:
Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom illustrated by Kadir Nelson
Gone Wild: an Endangered Animal Alphabet by David McLimans

The Geisel Award

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award was established in 2004 to acknowledge the "author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year." It is named for the man known as Dr. Seuss and is awarded annually.

2007 Geisel Award recipient:
Zelda and Ivy: the Runaways by Laura McGee Kvasnosky

2007 Geisel Honor recipients:
Mercy Watson Goes for a Ride by Kate DiCamillo (author) and Chris Van Dusen (illustrator)
Move Over, Rover! by Karen Beaumont (author) and Jane Dyer (illustrator)
Not a Box by Antoinette Portis

View the list of all Association for Library Service for Children (ALSC) award winners, including the Newbery.

No comments: